top of page
  • Writer's pictureNyayasastra

Understanding the Kinds of GST in India

The Goods and Services Tax (GST) is a significant tax reform in India's indirect taxation system, aimed at integrating state economies and boosting overall growth. It is a comprehensive, destination-based tax levied on the consumption of goods and services. The GST regime categorizes taxes into Central Goods and Service Tax (CGST), State Goods and Service Tax (SGST), Integrated Goods and Service Tax (IGST), and Union Territory Goods and Service Tax (UTGST).

Central Goods and Service Tax (CGST)

CGST is levied on the intrastate supply of both goods and services, collected by the Central Government. This tax replaced several existing central taxes, including Central Excise Duty, Services Tax, Countervailing Duty (CVD), Special Additional Duty of Customs (SAD), and central surcharges and cesses.

State Goods and Service Tax (SGST)

SGST is imposed on intrastate transactions of goods and services and collected by the respective State Governments. It subsumes various state taxes, including Value Added Tax (VAT), Central Sales Tax (CST), Luxury Tax, Entry Tax, Entertainment Tax, taxes on advertisements, purchases, lotteries, betting, and gambling, and state cesses and surcharges.

Integrated Goods and Service Tax (IGST)

The IGST is collected by the Central Government for inter-state transactions and import of goods and services. It seeks to ensure that the tax is collected from the state where goods or services are consumed. The IGST mechanism is designed to ensure seamless flow of input tax credit from one state to another. The inter-state seller pays IGST on the sale of his goods to the Central Government after adjusting available credit of IGST, CGST, and SGST on his purchases.

Union Territory Goods and Service Tax (UTGST)

UTGST mirrors SGST, but it is applicable in the case of Union Territories without their legislature (Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and Lakshadweep). It replaced the taxes levied under the Union Territory VAT.

Critical Case Laws and Examples

The real-life implementation of GST and its different types can be seen through several case laws and examples. The landmark case, M/s Safari Retreats Private Limited vs Chief Commissioner of Central Goods & Service Tax, highlighted the input tax credit mechanism under the GST regime. The Orissa High Court ruled that denying the claim of input tax credit would be violative of Article 14 of the Indian Constitution.

In the case of Union of India vs Brand Equity Treaties Limited, the Delhi High Court allowed companies to pay GST dues in instalments, citing the adverse economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Conclusion : Kinds of GST

The implementation of GST in India is a monumental tax reform aimed at eliminating the cascading effect of taxes, ensuring a common national market, and boosting the economic growth of the country. The different kinds of GST - CGST, SGST, IGST, and UTGST - collectively create a harmonized system of indirect taxes, making tax compliance simpler and more efficient.

33 views0 comments


Nyayasastra Cover_edited.jpg

Try Nyayasastra Today!

Fill your details and be the first to experience India's First AI Powered Law Learning Engine

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page